HR management in a period of change

Classic HR management is undergoing change. New entities such as Business Partners, Share Service Centers (HR SSC) and Centers of Excellence (CoE) are emerging. Processes are shared and optimised, and existing jobs titles and professional roles are changing … and the HR IT?

What contribution can the HR application landscape make in providing the best possible support to the organisation and to processes in order to smooth the path to excellence?

Operative process support using ERP software from suppliers such as SAP with modules for payroll and HR management has been a constant in the HR IT landscape for decades. Reports and key figures are (used to be) generated directly from the operative data inventories.

CubeServ Business Content for HR BW

Over recent years, we have found that the analytical aspects of HR data evaluation are becoming increasingly important. HR-related issues and tasks, such as demographic change, aging (of the population), the skills shortage, talent scouting, staff retention, diversification, occupational health management, demand new tools, applications and means to make the HR data available for viewing and analysis.

Additional requirements, such as visualisation, transparency and mobile workplaces/resources for staff and management extend the focus beyond list displays of key figures.

This is where the Business Warehouse systems (BW) and Business Intelligence (BI) applications from CubeServ with their specialist business content for HR come in.

The benefits:

  • differentiation/enhancement with respect to the standard SAP content for HR
  • ready-made layer model for NetWeaver BW – also available for SAP BW on HANA
  • modular and scalable best-practice solution
  • solutions for HR-specific issues included
  • ready-made reports and portal content available for immediate use
  • pre-configured fixed-price packages, applicability guaranteed
  • no follow-up costs (maintenance/licences)

Four modules, one application = best practice at a fixed price

Our BW content has been developed with the aid of information about the business and technological requirements for data analysis in the HR environment gained from numerous HR-BW projects, producing the “best practice” approach at a fixed price.

CubeServ Business Content for HR comprises 4 different modules, based on the 4 core modules of SAP ERP Human Capital Management Software:

  • Personnel Administration (PA)
  • Organizational Management (OM)
  • Personnel Time Management (PT)
  • Payroll (PY)

In addition, the CubeServ Content covers special technical features of HR data, such as

  • the display of time series analyses in a hierarchy that is stable over time
  • view/derivation of all characteristics/key figures for specific key dates
  • stable (frozen) and corrected data views of retrospective changes to the source data (historically correct, historically stable)
  • movement/change analyses within/outside the company
  • FICO views of payroll data (For-Period/In-Period, incl. G/L account details)
  • indirect evaluation of wage types in conjunction with data extraction from the source
  • display of headcount key figures in forecast scenarios (e.g. EOY evaluation)
  • position and staffing management

It is a modular application with options to enhance and extend the individual modules and combine them with each other. This modular approach also allows customer-specific enhancements to be integrated without any problems in the form of Z-tables or 9xx infotypes – comparable to the infotype enhancements in the SAP Standard.

In addition to the modules mentioned above, our HR Content also includes a module for “Personnel (Cost) Planning (PKP)“

Module “Personnel Administration (PA)”

Personnel Administration (PA) represents the core module of the BW application. For analysis purposes, data providers are made available for Headcount (Actual/Forecast), Measures (Actual/Forecast) and Personnel Change Analysis (Actual/Forecast). This content provides the technical and content basis for your reporting. It is based on the most important infotypes of the SAP HCM modules and – where useful – the SAP standard extractors.

  • IT0001 Organizational Assignment
    (incl. organizational hierarchy)
  • IT0002 Personal Data
  • IT0007 Planned Working Time
  • IT0008 Basic Pay
  • IT0014 Recurrent Payments/Deductions
  • IT0015 Additional Payments
  • IT0016 Contract Elements
  • IT0041 Date Specifications
  • IT0105 Communications
  • 0HR_PA_1 (Actions from IT0000/0302)
  • Optional: 0HR_PA_0 (Employee (Transaction Data))

The following basic key figures are created: FTE (Full Time Equivalent), Headcount, Age, Length of Service, and Amounts. In addition, characteristic values such as Full time/Part time, Nationality, Gender, Contract Type (Limited, Unlimited, Probationary Period) are made available.

In the standard solution, 20 classic HR reports on Headcount, Fluctuation, Age Distribution, etc. are delivered. Currently also included are Web Application Designer (WAD) templates for immediate integration into an SAP portal application.

One highlight of the package is the Change Analysis, which analyses the movements/changes of all available characteristics (e.g. Organization, Employee Subgroup, Cost Center, Pay Scale Group) and, in interaction with Measures, shows the effect of each change on the basic key figures (FTE, Headcount) as Receipt (employee joining), Issue (employee leaving) or Internal Change (e.g. change of capacity due to working time).

Changes can optionally be displayed by means of a waterfall chart.

In addition, basic pay information from infotypes 0008/0014/0015 is evaluated with current amounts (from pay scale tables for instance) in the course of the transfer, which means that having to actively establish a connection with the pay scale or wage type tables becomes obsolete.

Example of age analysis incl. m/f in Design Studio
Example of change analysis by OU in Analysis Office/BEx
Example of graphic change display incl. forecast in SAP Dashboards
Example of pay analysis in SAP Dashboards

Module “Organizational Management (OM)”

Organizational Management is an optional module, which focuses on the analysis of Staffing of Positions (Actual/Forecast). The analysis is generated on the basis of the extraction of standard elements from the SAP Organizational Management:

  • HRP-1000 Objects
  • HRP-1001 Relationships
  • HRP-1002 Description
  • HRP-1003 Department/Staff
  • HRP-1005 Planned Compensation
  • HRP-1007 Vacancy
  • HRP-1008 Account Assignment Features
  • HRP-1013 Employee Group/Subgroup
  • HRP-1014 Obsolete
  • HRP-1015 Cost Planning
  • HRP-1018 Cost Distribution
Combined PA/OM/Forecast analysis in SAP Dashboards

Key figures and reports on “Length of occupation”, “Amount of direct reports” and “Amount of (approved) positions” can be displayed for analysis purposes. In addition – but only if the operational HR processes will cover the issue – a comparison between Actual and Planned personnel is possible as well. Similarly, cost comparisons of Actual and Planned costs are possible in conjunction with our Payroll module (PY).

As is the case in the Personnel Administration module, the OM data are also determined accurately per month, which means that staffing (Actual/Planned) can be included in an EOY evaluation.

Module “Personnel Time Management (PT)”

Personnel Time Management is also an optional extension module, which focuses on attendances and absences and their analysis. Module “Personnel Time Management” allows the following components to be analysed:

  • PLANNED times (PT1)
  • ACTUAL times (PT2)
  • Absences (IT-2001)
Example of analysis of health-related absences in Design Studio

The module provides the time data accurately per day, distinguishing between planned working times (Planned), attendances (Actual) and Absences (IT2001), determining the key figures

  • in hours and days
  • with and without public holidays in each case
  • in calendar days

Specific characteristics and key figures are made available for the analysis of health-related absences:

  • Paid/unpaid absence (taking into account continued pay)
  • Hierarchy of health-related types of absence (with/without certificate, accident, health cure, reintegration)
  • Overall length of absence (calendar days)
  • Number of absences per period (relating to AU (unpaid absence) document entry)
  • First day of absence (weekday Mon, Tue, …, Fri)
  • Age/Length of Service

There is an enhancement available for including the quotas (PT3).

Module “Payroll (PY)”

The Payroll module involves the extraction of the revision information (PY_PP_1), complementing the data by replacing the symbolic account of the wage type by the Actual posting account (G/L account) of the SAP FICO application.

This allows you to evaluate the personnel costs from the Controlling perspective (cost center | G/L account) and from the perspective of HR management (organization | wage type) – taking into account the cost-producing period (For-Period) and the cost-effective period (In-Period).

Flexible extension options

The BW Business Content for HR from CubeServ represents best practice at a fixed price – and a solid foundation for further analyses and evaluations. You can integrate further modules, infotypes, tables or external sources into the content and adapt the data model logic (layer principle). You can connect individual data sources depending on the “originating” process and construct customer-specific or user-specific providers for the reporting, which link and connect the data from different processes.

The integration of non-HR data (e.g. from Settlement or Accounting) or of external benchmarking figures is also possible for mapping performance management key figures. This could include “Return on HCM-capital” incl. turnover/cost/personnel expenses, a comparison of the company’s own data with those of competitors/the sector as a whole and similar examples.

Frontend application – technically independent

Which SAP frontend application do you use / do you have licences for?

The more recent applications such as Design Studio, Lumira and Analysis Edition for Office (Excel, PowerPoint) or the older BO or BW applications (BEx, Web Application Designer), SAP Dashboards/Xcelsius?

Our Content can supply data to all these applications.

Further applications that are not part of the SAP portfolio can also be used, as long as they can process the DSO/InfoCube/MultiProvider data structures; ideally, access should be made via the classic SAP Query.

If so, please give us a call or send us an e-mail. We can then arrange a date for a presentation and discuss your individual requirements.

Example of SAP Design Studio mock-up with Hichert® graphic notation and CubeServ add-on for microcharts
Example of analysis of pay distribution by age incl. m/f in Design Studio
Example of analysis of demographic development m/f with flexible choice of future period in Design Studio

CubeServ HR Analytics

Das Personalwesen im Wandel

Das klassische Personalwesen ist im Wandel. Es entstehen Business Partner, Shared Service Center (HR SSC) und Center of Excellence (CoE). Prozesse werden geteilt, optimiert und die beteiligten Mitarbeiter(innen) in neue Rollen- und Berufsbilder transformiert. …und die HR-IT?

Welchen Beitrag kann die HR Applikationslandschaft liefern, um die Organisation und die Prozesse optimal auf dem Weg zur Excellence zu unterstützen?

Die operative Unterstützung der Prozesse mit einer ERP-Software von bspw. SAP mit seinen Modulen zur Personalabrechnung und Personalmanagement ist seit Jahrzehnten eine Konstante in der HR-IT-Landschaft. Die Generierung von Berichten und Kennzahlen erfolgt(e) direkt aus den operativen Datenbeständen.

CubeServ Business Content für HR-BW

Seit ein paar Jahren erleben wir, dass die analytischen Aspekte der Personaldatenauswertung einen immer höheren Stellenwert einnehmen. Personalpolitische Themen und Instrumente wie Demografie, (Über)Alterung, Fachkräftemangel, Talentsuche, Mitarbeiterbindung, Diversifizierung, betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement verlangen neue Instrumente, Applikationen und Darstellungsformen der verfügbaren Personaldaten.

Zusätzliche Anforderungen, wie Visualisierung, Transparenz und mobile Arbeitsplätze/-mittel für Mitarbeiter und Management erweitern den Fokus über die Listendarstellung von Kennzahlen hinaus.
Hier setzen Business Warehouse Systeme (BW) und Business Intelligence (BI) Anwendungen der CubeServ mit ihren spezialisierten Business Content für HR an.

Die Vorteile:

  • Abgrenzung/Erweiterung zum SAP Standard Content für HR
  • Fertiges Schichtenmodell für NetWeaver BW – auch für SAP BW-on-HANA verfügbar
  • modulare und skalierbare Best-Practice-Lösung
  • Lösungen für HR-spezifische Problemstellung inklusive
  • Vorgefertigte Berichte und Portal-Content zur sofortigen Nutzung
  • Vorkonfigurierte Pakete zum Festpreis mit Einsatzgarantie
  • Keine Folgekosten (Wartung/Lizenzen)

Vier Module, eine Anwendung = Best Practise zum Festpreis

Über zahlreiche HR-BW Projekte sind die fachlichen und technologischen Anforderungen der Datenanalyse im HR-Umfeld in unseren BW-Content eingeflossen – und stellen den „Best Practise“ Ansatz zum Festpreis dar.

Der CubeServ Business Content für HR beinhaltet 4 unterschiedliche Module, basierend auf den 4 Kernmodulen der SAP ERP Human Capital Management Software:

  • Personaladministration (PA)
  • Organisationsmanagement (OM)
  • Zeitwirtschaft (PT)
  • Abrechnung (PY)

Zusätzlich widmet sich der CubeServ Content Personaldaten-technischen Besonderheiten, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Darstellung von Zeitreihenauswertungen in einer zeitstabilen Hierarchie
  • Stichtagsgenaue Betrachtung/Ableitung aller Merkmale/Kennzahlen
  • Stabile (Frozen) und korrigierte Datensichten von rückwirkenden Änderungen der Quelldaten
    (Historisch korrekt, Historisch stabil)
  • Bewegungs-/Veränderungsanalysen innerhalb/außerhalb des Unternehmens
  • FICO-Sicht auf Abrechnungsdaten (Für/In Periode und Bereitstellung Sachkonto)
  • Indirekte Bewertung von Lohnarten bei der Daten-Extraktion aus der Quelle
  • Darstellung der Bestandskennzahlen in Forecast-Szenarien (bspw. EOY-Betrachtung)
  • Positions- und Besetzungsmanagement

 
Die Anwendung ist modular aufgebaut und lässt sich individuell innerhalb aller Module erweitern, ausbauen und miteinander kombinieren. Bedingt durch diesen modularen Ansatz können auch kundenindividuelle Erweiterungen in Form von Z-Tabellen oder 9xxx-Infotypen problemlos eingebunden werden – ebenso wie Infotyperweiterungen im SAP Standard.

Ein weiteres Modul in unserem HR-Content ist zum Thema Personal(kosten)planung (PKP) erhältlich.

Modul „Personaladministration (PA)“

Die Personaladministration (PA) bildet das Kernmodul der BW-Applikation. Für Auswertungszwecke werden Provider für Personalbestand (Ist/Forecast), Maßnahmen (Ist/Forecast) und Personalveränderungsanalyse (Ist/Forecast) bereitgestellt. Dieser Content bildet die technische und inhaltliche Grundlage für ihr Berichtswesen. Er fußt auf dem wichtigsten Infotypen des SAP HCM Modules und – wo sinnvoll – der SAP Standardextraktoren.

  • IT0001 Organisatorische Zuordnung
    (inkl. Organisationshierarchie)
  • IT0002 Daten zur Person
  • IT0007 Sollarbeitszeiten   
  • IT0008 Basisbezüge   
  • IT0014 Wiederkehrende Be-/Abzüge   
  • IT0015 Ergänzende Zahlungen   
  • IT0016 Vertragsbestandteile   
  • IT0041 Datumsangaben   
  • IT0105 Kommunikation
  • 0HR_PA_1 (Maßnahmen aus IT0000/0302)
  • Optional: 0HR_PA_0 (Mitarbeiter)   

 
Gebildet werden die Basiskennzahlen FTE (Vollzeitequivalent), Köpfe, Alter, Betriebszugehörigkeit und Beträge. Zusätzlich werden unter anderem Merkmalausprägungen wie Vollzeit/Teilzeit, Nationalität, Geschlecht, Vertragstypisierung (befristet, unbefristet, Probezeit) bereitgestellt.

Im Standard werden 20 klassische HR-Berichte zum Bestand, Fluktuation, Altersverteilung usw. ausgeliefert. Aktuell inklusive Web Application Designer (WAD) Templates für die sofortige Integration in eine SAP Portal Anwendung.

Ein Highlight des Paketes ist die Veränderungsanalyse, welche die Bewegungen/Veränderungen von allen verfügbaren Merkmalen (bspw. Organisation, Mitarbeiterkreis, Kostenstelle, Tarifgruppe) analysiert und die Auswirkung auf die Basiskennzahlen (FTE, Köpfe) im Zusammenspiel mit Maßnahmen als Zugang, Abgang oder interne Veränderung (bspw. kapazitative Veränderung durch die Arbeitszeit) darstellt.

Die Veränderung kann optional auch über ein Wasserfall-Chart dargestellt werden.

Desweiteren werden die Grundentgelte aus den Infotypen 0008/0014/0015 bei der Überleitung mit aktuellen Beträgen (aus bspw. Tariftabellen) bewertet, sodass die Anbindung der Tariftabellen oder Lohnartentabellen obsolet wird.

Beispiel mit Design Studio zur Altersanalyse inkl. m/w
Beispiel Analysis Office/BEx für Veränderungsanalyse per OE
Beispiel SAP Dashboards für grafische Darstellung der Veränderung inkl. Forecast
Beispiel SAP Dashboards für Entgeltanalyse

Modul „Organisationsmanagement (OM)“

Das Modul zum Organisationsmanagement ist ein optionales Modul, welches den Fokus auf die Analyse der Planstellenbesetzung (Ist/Forecast) legt. Die Generierung erfolgt aus der Extraktion der Standardelemente des SAP Organisationsmanagement:

  • HRP-1000 Objekte
  • HRP-1001 Verknüpfungen
  • HRP-1002 Verbale Beschreibung
  • HRP-1003 Abteilung/Stab
  • HRP-1005 Sollbezahlung
  • HRP-1007 Status Vakanz              
  • HRP-1008 Kontierungen
  • HRP-1013 Mitarbeitergruppe/-kreis        
  • HRP-1014 Obsolet          
  • HRP-1015 Kostenplanung            
  • HRP-1018 Kostenverteilung        
Beispiel SAP Dashboards für eine kombinierte Analyse PA/OM/Forecast

Zu Analysezwecken können Kennzahlen und Berichte zur „Dauer der Besetzung“, „Anzahl Mitarbeiter in der direkten Führungsverantwortung“ und „Anzahl (genehmigter) Planstellen“ dargestellt werden. Zusätzlich und unter Einschränkung der Nutzung innerhalb der Personalprozesse ist der Abgleich zwischen Soll/Ist-Bezahlung möglich. Ebenso sind Kostenabgleiche mit Soll-/Istkosten möglich im Zusammenspiel mit unserem Modul zur Abrechnung (PY).

Wie im Modul zur Personaladministration werden die OM-Daten auch für die Zukunft monatsgenau bewertet sodass eine Stellenbesetzung (Ist/Soll) in einer EOY-Betrachtung möglich ist.

Modul „Zeitwirtschaft (PT)“

Die Zeitwirtschaft ist ebenfalls ein optionales Erweiterungsmodul mit dem Fokus auf Ab- und Anwesenheiten und deren Analyse. Das Modul „Zeitwirtschaft“ ermöglicht die Analyse folgender Komponenten:

  • SOLL-Zeiten (PT1)
  • IST-Zeiten (PT2)
  • Abwesenheiten (IT-2001)
Beispiel Design Studio für krankheitsbedingte Abwesenheitsanalyse

Das Modul stellt die Zeitdaten tagesgenau im Zusammenspiel zwischen Arbeitsplanzeiten (Soll); Anwesenheiten (Ist) und Abwesenheiten (IT2001) zur Verfügung, dabei werden die Kennzahlen gebildet.

  • in Stunden und Tagen
  • jeweils mit und ohne Feiertage
  • Kalendertage

 
Speziell für die Analyse der krankheitsbedingten Abwesenheit(en) werden Merkmale und Kennzahlen bereitgestellt:

  • Bezahlte/unbezahlte Abwesenheit (unter Berücksichtigung der Lohnfortzahlung)
  • Hierarchie zu krankheitsbedingten Abwesenheitsart (mit/ohne Attest, Unfall, Kur, Wiedereingliederung)
  • Gesamtdauer der Abwesenheit (Kalendertage)
  • Anzahl der Abwesenheiten per Periode (bezogen auf AU-Belegerfassung)
  • Erster Tag der Abwesenheit (Wochentag Mo, Di, …, Fr)
  • Alter/Betriebszugehörigkeit

 
In einer Erweiterung können auch die Kontingente (PT3) angebunden werden.

Modul „Abrechnung (PY)“

Das Modul zur Abrechnung beinhaltet die Extraktion der Revisionsinformationen (PY_PP_1) und ergänzt die Daten um die Auflösung des symbolischen Kontos der Lohnart um das tatsächliche Verbuchungskonto (Sachkonto) der SAP FICO-Anwendung.

Dadurch sind Sie in der Lage die Personalkosten aus Controlling-Sicht (Kostenstelle | Sachkonto) und Personalwirtschaftlicher-Sicht (Organisation | Lohnart) auszuwerten – unter Berücksichtigung der verursachungsrelevanten Periode (Für-Periode) und der kostenwirksamen Periode (In-Periode).

Flexible Möglichkeiten der Erweiterung

Der BW Business Content für HR der CubeServ ist Best Practise zum Festpreis – und ein starkes Fundament für weitere Analysen und Auswertungen. Integrieren Sie weitere Module, Infotypen, Tabellen oder externe Quellen in den Content und adaptieren Sie die Logik des Datenmodelles (Schichtprinzip). So können Sie individuelle Datenquellen nach dem „Verursacher“-Prozess anbinden und für das Berichtswesen kunden- bzw. anwenderindividuelle/-spezifische Provider aufbauen, welche die Daten aus unterschiedlichen Prozessen verknüpft und verbindet.

Auch die Integration HR-fremder Daten (bspw. aus der Bilanzierung oder dem Finanzwesen, oder Anbindung von externen Benchmarking-Zahlen) sind nutzbar um Performance Management Kennzahlen abzubilden. Dazu gehören „Kapitalrendite des Humankapitals“ mit Umsatz/Kosten/Personalaufwand, eigene Daten mit denen von Wettbewerbern/der Branche vergleichen  oder ähnliche Beispiele.

Front End-Anwendung - Technisch unabhängig

Welche SAP Front End-Anwendungen haben Sie im Einsatz / lizenziert?

Die neueren Anwendungen wie Design Studio, Lumira oder Analysis Edition für Office (Excel, Powerpoint) oder die älteren BO-bzw. BW-Anwendungen (BEx, Web Application Designer), SAP Dashboards/Xcelsius?

Unser Content bedient alle diese Anwendungen.

Auch weitere Anwendungen, welche nicht aus dem SAP-Portfolio stammen, können genutzt werden, sofern die Datenstrukturen DSO/InfoCube/MultiProvider verarbeitet werden können – bestenfalls erfolgt der Zugriff über die klassische SAP-Query.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?
Dann rufen Sie uns an oder senden uns eine E-Mail. Gerne vereinbaren wir mit Ihnen einen Präsentationstermin und besprechen Ihre individuellen Anforderungen.

Beispiel Design Studio Mock up mit Hichert® Grafiknotation und CubeServ AddOn für Microcharts
Beispiel Design Studio für eine Entgeltverteilung nach Alter inkl. m/w
Beispiel Design Studio für eine Demografie Entwicklung m/w mit flexibler Zukunftswahl